1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Training a muscle twice a week

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by dolabella, Mar 17, 2010.

1. dolabella

dolabella Active Member

Hello everyone!
    I've been working out for 3 years now, but since the beggining, I only had 1 year of real intense training.
    I'm 19 years old and I started working out when I was 16.
    Before creating this thread, I've searched and analyzed lots of training routines for bulking and bulking principles. According to every article I've read up to now, I should work out a muscle only once a week, and that's what I'm currently doing.

After 2 months of training, my results were pretty fine actually, but I noticed that I was getting better gains when I was working out a muscle twice a week. My arms used to be harder and used to look more pumped, and so was my entire body. Maybe it looked better because of the constant blood flow due to more frequent work outs, and the actual mass gains were lower. I just don't know.

That's my doubt. Should I really stick to my current routine? Working out a muscle once a week always gives better results on bulking for everyone in any age? Is there a chance that my old routine can give me better gains?

Thank you for helping and replying :-)

2. cajunman

cajunman Well-Known Member

Working a muscle only once a week is myth. Read some different articles.

3. Ark

Ark Well-Known Member

I´ve read in order for the muscle to recover from the previous workout, you need to wait 7 days to full recovery, if you hit the muscle sooner, the training would not be so effective.

4. dolabella

dolabella Active Member

Thank you both for replying.