1. JSF is shutting down soon. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

theMasters Master Plan

Discussion in 'Fitness Journals' started by theMasters, Feb 4, 2009.

1. theMasters

theMasters Active Member

I'm officially starting a journal today.

Four months back the wife and I joined the Gym initially only to lose some weight and get away from TV. After a month I started lifting weights and was on a simple split routine. I spent more time on the treadmill though.

I'm pretty happy with the progress I've made so far. I wish I had taken pictures and measurements then but didn't. What I do know is that I can now fit into a very old pair of size 32" jeans easily. I've also built up more muscle.

My goal now is to build lean muscle mass. I stumbled on John's site looking for a new routine. I've decided to take up John's core and intensity workout (Bulking) with little modification. It looks challenging and interesting. It might not be ideal for me but I like the way it mixes strength training with hypertrophy. He switched to only Intensity but I need the Strengh part too. I will change exercises though in a few weeks.

My diet is pretty meticulous now but not doing excess calories, sticking to around 2500-3000 roughly.
    Using Opticen from Atlarge, Xtend BCAAs and Animal Pak multi-vitamins as supplements.
    I'm 34, weigh 190pds, height 5’ 11", BF ~ 15% – 20%

I’ll post my workout details to date soon.

Happy lifting folks.
    theMasters

#1 theMasters, Feb 4, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  2. theMasters

theMasters Active Member

Date: 2/2/2009
    Week: 1
    Type: Core

Squat 160*5 170*5 175*5 185*2
    DB Deadlift 50 *5 55*5 60*5 65*2
    Incline crunch (Abs) 10*3

The above doesn't include warmups.
    The routine calls for SLDLs but I needed to work on the form for it, so did DB deadlift for now. Will switch next week.