1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Stupid Push Ups.

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by spatzcat_11, Sep 3, 2009.

1. spatzcat_11

spatzcat_11 Active Member

I've been doing weights for over 4 months...and STILL can not do a push up with out doing it 'girl style'. :mad:

Granted I've seen some improvements, when I started I could only do about 6, and only 1 set....

I can do 3 sets of 10 now, (hard to do though!) but still can't do 1 normal one.:bang:

what can I do to improve this?

2. Flex

Flex Well-Known Member

Do you bench press?

3. spatzcat_11

not anymore...i am doing the 6 months of routines from the book 'the new weightlifting for women'.... and they seem to be a anti bench press. I didn't really get that, but they claim i can lift like a man and look like a goddess, so I thought whatever then!:blank:

They had some long explanation about why push ups are preferred over bench press, but I am guessing by your question, that I should do some bench press and that will improve my push up ability?:confused:

4. dejavued

dejavued Senior Member
    Bronze Member

when you try to do one what happens?? :confused:

5. JoeSchmo

JoeSchmo Well-Known Member

Bench press (either barbell or with DB) could help your ability to do pushups, as they both hit similar muscle groups. Just make sure you use a weight that you find challenging.

You've already made significant improvements on your pushup ability ... Just keep working at it and you'll eventually be able to do full pushups. :tucool:

6. spatzcat_11