1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Squat Replacement

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by Hartyoon, Jun 29, 2010.

1. Hartyoon

Hartyoon Active Member

Hey All -

I've been training in the gym for the last two months pretty aimlessly, having isolated a muscle a day five days a week.

I ran into the Starting Strength program two weeks ago and spent the first week on form with low weights.

Stats -
    Height: 5'5"
    Weight: 137

I don't have any prior strength training experience. I do moderate cardio on my mountain bike and play tennis. My goal is strength and lean muscle.

Current Problem: It's clear to me now I overestimated my capacity to handle these weights and overdid it on the squat.
    My left hip hurts when I get down to parallel and just doesn't feel like it has the mechanical strength to get me out of the hole. I don't think it's the hip flexors. It feels like the joint itself. It's always cracked and felt more awkward than my right hip since years back.

My questions really are, What can I replace the squat with to continue with my training uninterrupted while it heals? Is there a way to strengthen the joint itself?

I'm going to incorporate yoga and more stretching into my program.

Just for extra color, below was the program and weights involved. The pain really kicked in on 6.27.10 after the first set of 140#.

Any thoughts how to keep things moving? I think the program is solid and was following it closely. I had to swap out the Power Clean for the Pendlay Row since I'm not comfortable with learning the movement myself.

Thanks!

Sunday - 6/20/10

Squat
    3 Warmup Sets, then
    115# 3x5

Bench Press
    3 Warmup Sets, then
    115# 3x5

Deadlift
    155# 1x5