1. JSF is shutting down soon. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Should I start a family?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussions' started by Rogozhin, Aug 27, 2010.

1. Rogozhin

Rogozhin Active Member

The pros and cons don't really matter as it really boils down to ego and the infinite. :ohnoes:

My issue is that I'm not a comfortable progenitor of our species, I see the huge issues that we must surmount (overpopulation and resource scarcity) and it scares me to death, but I also am able to understand the joy that parents experience while raising their children. But I've written off the allure and reality of finding true love again in my lifetime, so I'm at a crossroads. If I continue to wait I may end up being 50 years old and without children. :blank:

Thoughts?

2. IROC-Z

IROC-Z Raw Bench Daddy

I'm not trying to tell you what to do with your life, but I will give you my honest opinion. I was your age when my son was born, and prior to that had just about given up on ever having children. It has been extremely rewarding for me to have him in my life, and it almost seems strange now when I try to think back to what my life was before he came along.

My advice would be that if you have even the slightest desire to have a family, you should act on it.:)

3. M@

M@ Monster Maker 2017

Media:
    Albums:
    You're a guy: You can be 50 years old and a new Dad. This is a decision you should make when you're 100% sure.

Just stay in good enough shape to care for/play with your kids when you have them and you'll be fine. They may even be better off for your having waited. :nod:

4. George

George Senior Member

If overpopulation and resource scarcity are issues for you, then adoption might be a good idea. :)

5. HevyMetal

HevyMetal Well-Known Member

You don't want to be 50 and start being a dad.

Just after 50 you'll hit your mid-life crisis and you'll need all your money for a 527 cu.inch. Corvette.

6. Zilla

Zilla Well-Known Member

:lol: