1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Should I Do Bench Press Alone

Discussion in 'Introductions & Advice For Beginners' started by TonySoprano, Oct 1, 2008.

1. TonySoprano

TonySoprano Active Member

I'm a beginner and had never done bench press so I went with my roommate to the gym and tried to do it

I did ok ...first i did the bar with two 10s...so i guess 65 that was to oeasy but still i needed to work on stabilizing it

then i put on 20 on each side so i guess 85...it felt kind of not heavy but it was the perfect amount to help me work on my stablity

anyways my question is...my roommate is busy with all his college work and sometimes skips a week and stuff

I want to start a serious program (weight liftin wise, already on a good diet) and don't wana skip and stuff

should i try to do light bench press by myself...or is there a "safer" way i can substitute bench

heres what other excercises i do

Row machine
    Latteral Pulldowns
    Shoulder Press
    Bench Press
    (might add tricept extensions)

Legs
    Leg Curl
    Legg Press
    Leg extentions

2. HevyMetal

HevyMetal Well-Known Member

Yes ...you can.

I've never used a spotter in my life....but there have been times when I couldn't quite get the weight up past half-way etc.etc.

So.....I always made sure I had a safety plan in place. In the early days when I had a super-cheapy bench I didn't lock the weights on the bar....that way if I had to dump it, it would be easy to get them to slide off, thereby avoiding injury ( I hoped).

As I progressed through better benches I bought ones that were sturdy and came with spotter or safety bars on them.

The cheapy benches, it's too easy to overload them wtih weight.