1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Red Potatoes for cutting?

Discussion in 'Fat Loss/Cutting' started by Blinkbear, Feb 1, 2009.

1. Blinkbear

Blinkbear Well-Known Member

I just can't seem to develop the palate for sweet potatoes/yams. I can't seem to find any information saying one way or the other whether red potatoes are good on a cutting diet. I'm leaning towards "no" jsut going on the whole white=bad thing, but I'm no expert.

So, JSF, what say you? Red potatoes any good for losing weight?

EDIT: The more I think about it... the more ridiculous this question has become. But I'm resisting the urge to erase it and just leave it up. Maybe it can help someone else out who is wondering the same thing.

#1 Blinkbear, Feb 1, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  2. George

George Senior Member

I think they're fine for cutting. I don't see why white = bad. :confused: Are you worried about the higher GI?
    Get the red potatoes to fit into your calories and macros and I see absolutely no problem with eating them. :)

3. CA$ON

CA$ON Well-Known Member

I eat around 5-10lbs of red potatoes a month. I used them for cutting and now using them to bulk as well. :tucool:

4. Blinkbear

Blinkbear Well-Known Member

I've heard the "white = bad" as it pertains to white rice, sugar, white bread, white flour to name a couple off the top of my head. It's just kind of a general way to refer to those kinds of refined foods. I've also heard potatoes lumped in this too. I'm sure I'm not the only one who has heard this.

Well judging from your guy's responses (especially CA$ON's, given his success) I'm just gonna go ahead and use the baby reds. I love those things waaaaaay more than sweet potatoes.

Thanks!