1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Question about protein shakes/raspberry keytones

Discussion in 'Nutrition & Supplements' started by iixi, Jun 13, 2013.

1. iixi

iixi Member

I am still new to this...

I know enough that protein should be the center of your diet. Protein shakes I hear about a lot. I have tried things like the protein bars, muscle milk... but I am interested in the powder to make my own shakes. I hear a lot about whey protein, not sure of the differences. I am a 21/F trying to lose weight and tone up. Anyone have any recommendations as far as brands go?

As for the keytones. I started taking them as I heard they do good to suppress appetite and yadda yadda. The first day I took them I felt like it really worked wonders. I wasn't interested in food at all... but ever since that one time they don't work for me anymore.

I guess it's probably a placebo effect since they technically aren't proven to help with weight loss?

2. digitalnebula

digitalnebula Plagiarist

Protein powder is simply a tool to assist you in hitting your macro goals....not much more. (The exception to this is drinking whey protein after a workout due to its relatively fast absorption rate...but honestly, we are splitting hairs at that point).

I rely on protein powder to help me hit my macronutrient targets....and that is about it. At the moment, I am trying to hit over 260g of protein on workout days. As an example, that would be almost 3 pounds of chicken breast.....no way I can get all that protein from solid food....I would be doing a lot of this -> :barf: