1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Prodigal Son

Discussion in 'Road Cycling, Mountain Biking & Cyclocross' started by ILoco, Jul 15, 2015.

1. ILoco

ILoco Well-Known Member

It seems like some things never change around here (John's commitment to fitness in my 10+ years here). I however have fallen off the wagon several times. I'm back on the wagon however and just finished my first Sprint distance triathlon at Naval Station Mayport, FL (finished 4th in Clyde division).

I'm relatively new to road bikes and just bought a Trek Domane 2.3 to compete in the tris. I was primarily a weightlifter and then runner having done some half marathons in the past. But now... now I'm hooked on the cycling and want to continue doing longer tris. Great to see all the roadies here and I'll be learning here with everyone else.

Quick question though - do you ride with earbuds? It's definitely more pleasant, but definitely a safety issue so I have not been wearing them at all.

2. John Stone

John Stone Every day is Leg Day
    Staff Member Owner

When riding solo I almost always wear earbuds, but I never wear them in a group. Although technically illegal on Florida roads (one of only two states that completely disallows earbud use), I don't feel earbuds make riding any less safe in most situations. I can still hear things around me, and cars approaching from behind happens pretty much non-stop anyway. So it's not like hearing the cars a little sooner is going to change how I'm riding--I <em>always </em>assume a car is behind me. Besides, the wind noise is generally so loud that hearing is difficult anyway.