1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Pregnancy, nutrition and exercise.

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by lostmind, Jan 28, 2008.

1. lostmind

lostmind Well-Known Member

So... while my wife and I aren't 100% sure, we may be having a child this year. My wife is one of those skinny fat girls, who looks decently good without ever doing too much exercise and zero dieting.

But she wants to become more fit and healthy during this pregnancy while giving baby all the best nutrition possible. Any advice for weightlifting/cardio she can start up? She is a total beginner when it comes to exercise (I think she did a half dozen yoga classes a few years back and that's about it).

We've been doing internet searches for weeks on this stuff, but there is very little real advice out there on the net that we can find. Most baby centric sites say basic stuff like - eat several small meals per day, eat more fruits and veggies, don't eat swordfish, canned tuna and shark. To stay in "shape" take a 15-20 mins walk each day. Which honestly, isn't very helpful.

We eat 4 meals a day with a couple snacks already. We eat fairly healthy, but my wife loves to snack on chips. She's cut that out already (which isn't easy on her), she's taking a pre-natal multi vitamin (with folic acid) but we are curious about fish oil/omega 3/CLA supplementation. _EVERY_ fish oil/omega 3/CLA supplement we've found says not to use during pregnancy or breastfeeding. Heck even protein powder has this warning on it! Why? Is it such a serious concern? It's just food, right? It can't be worse for you then eating mcdonalds - which we see lots of pregnant women eating!