1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie intro

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by Cocomartinez, Jun 19, 2008.

1. Cocomartinez

Cocomartinez Active Member

Hi – newbie here looking for advice.

I’m 46 and started my quest to look hotter January 14th. I’m 5´6¨ and currently 178. I hit a plateau in April and May and didn’t lose anything until last week, after I changed to a 3 day lifting schedule with 1 day of cardio instead of 2 and 2. Unfortunately, I didn’t take measurements or pics at the beginning. I’ve lost 8 kilos (16 lbs) and maybe 2 pants sizes since January. My goal was to be 135 by the end of October – but that looks unlikely at this pace.

I joined a gym and spent about an hour and 20 minutes 4 days a week - 2 days of weightlifting with 20 minutes of cardio and 2 days of cardio – rowing, elliptical, treadmill, recumbent bike. I generally do 15 minutes of my version of HIIT (1 minute 8-9 and 2 minutes 5.5 with 6.0 incline on the treadmill) each session. The machine tells me my heart rate maxes at between 170 and 180. The rest of the cardio is somewhere around 155. I do barbell squats, lunges, dead lifts, lat pull downs, assisted pull-ups, horiz. rows, dumbbell chest presses, shoulder presses, dips, all 3 sets of 8 as heavy as I can. Mondays I have a Bodypump class which is more reps at lighter weights.

I calculated my BMI at 2350. I’ve been recording my food intake at Fitday – averaging 1500-1600 calories a day, aiming for a 40P 30C 30F split, but frankly it varies day to day. It’s hard to cook real food and keep the fats below 30. Saturday is a free day.

Daily food intake: