1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

New here, asking a few questions.

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by ZinGraffitiKid, Mar 12, 2009.

1. ZinGraffitiKid

ZinGraffitiKid Active Member

A few years back I was very active in taking dance (for about 7 years). Due to a few accidents in highschool I am unable to pick it back up.
    One of those injuries include falling down the stairs and fracturing multiple bones in one leg.
    Now that I am in college I gained weight (private art school 'no sports here'). The issue is I have been working out and building up strength for about 3 months and seeing just a few changes.

My problem:
    Im a pear shape, I want to tone my upper body and do cardio on my lower body but one of my legs are weak, im trying to avoid bulking them up to make it stronger. Any suggestions?

2. AndiMAC

AndiMAC Well-Known Member

Well obviously you want to start light with your weights and just do more reps. Do you have an orthopedic doc or someone (maybe physiologist) who can tell you "where you're at" as far as the leg is concerned? Maybe help with what exercises will help strengthen the injured leg and such.

3. Cubed

Cubed Active Member

If you're female don't worry about 'bulking' by which I assume you mean getting huge muscles. This won't happen unless you decide to take steroids. It's just not possible.

4. Sea2Sea

Sea2Sea Active Member