1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

My Bench Shirt Exploded!

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by Eman7673, May 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eman7673

Eman7673 Well-Known Member

Hey, its official, my first bench shirt has exploded. I was on my first rep, it was only 350, but my shirt was on its last legs, so it split down the middle when I was lowering the bar down. Since that happened, I had to rush two new ones in from Inzer, they should be good enough. This ever happen to anyone?

2. JoeSchmo

JoeSchmo Well-Known Member

I've never used a bench shirt before, but an exploding bench shirt seems like a recipe for bad things. Don't they usually explode at the bottom of the lift? Seems like, in those situations in which one is lifting maximal loads that exceed one's raw capacity, that an exploding shirt could result in shoulder/pec injuries. Did you get hurt?

Bench shirts kinda scare me -- Not only for the exploding reason, but because people get out of their "groove" and end up dropping the bar on themselves. I was reading an account on BB.com of some guy who got out of his groove and dropped a few hundred pounds on his face. Ouchies.

3. Andrew

Andrew Well-Known Member

Yeah, I don't think I will ever use a bench shirt.

4. Fender

Fender Well-Known Member

Im just curious about these. Isnt the point to lift weights to see how much you can lift? So why would you use something that is going to increase your bench while not giving you a real test of strength since its enbabling you? Sorry if that doesnt make sense lol. Its early and Im about to go do cardio.