1. JSF is shutting down on February 12, 2020. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Losing weight, gaining muscle?

Discussion in 'Introductions & Advice For Beginners' started by banderbe, May 23, 2007.

1. banderbe

banderbe Active Member

Hello everyone, I am hoping to get a little feedback on what I'm doing to make sure I'm on the right path.

I am 6'1" and was 210 about a year ago when I began doing cardio a few times a week. By the end of the year I was doing four times a week for about half an hour and was down to 195.

I started lifting weights a few weeks ago, and about a week after starting I began counting calories and limiting myself to ~2000 a day after calculating my maintenance calories using the information in a sticky at the top of one of the forums here. This morning I weighed in at 189.2.

So I guess what I want to do is lose fat and gain muscle. Is it possible? If not, is it a waste of time to lift?

I am getting 30% of my calories from protein, and gradually switching over to complex carbs, and healthy fats. I've begun to eat more, smaller meals during the day.

Looking back at John's food logs, he seems to have gone on a pretty severe low-cal diet when he started in 2003, and appears by May of that year to have gained quite a lot of muscle. Or, maybe he just shed the fat so you can see the muscle?

Sort of confused here.. :) Thanks for your advice. I'm glad to be here, looking forward to the future.

2. Chameleon

Chameleon Well-Known Member

okay... I'll try to clear a bit up, but first Welcome to JSF :)

first: John admits that he went tooo low calorie when he went on his first cut

second… yes, mostly he just revealed the muscle he already had, however he probably did add some muscle by way of what we call "newbie gains", that being that when you first start lifting your body will respond rather quickly to the new stimulus and you will gain muscle