1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Limit on Cardio?

Discussion in 'Fat Loss/Cutting' started by Blinkbear, Sep 27, 2006.

1. Blinkbear

Blinkbear Well-Known Member

I did a search and couldn't find an absoilute definitive answer to this question. Is there a point where too much cardio can hurt?

Like if I were to do 45 mins of fasted morning cardio and then later that day do another 45 mins. obviously not fasted. Would it be beneficial..ie the more the better? Would it speed up results?

2. crupiea

crupiea Well-Known Member

I am by no means an expert but here is what I have noticed. If you do a ton of cardio, you will burn fat. If you do more than unless you are eating enough to sustain it, you will start to burn muscle. I have my program set up to do cardio one day, weight the next, and it goes on and onlike that. If I switched to cardio everyday, I would have to change my diet to allow for more calories, ontherwise the extra would be muscle.
    You can do more but you will have to experiment with your calories so you don't waste your time. Have fun.

3. wh0rume

wh0rume Senior Member

There is no definite answer to your question - it depends on so many factors.

If you're fasted, or your glycogen levels happen to be low, it's not a good idea to go for too long (over 45min), and keep it 65-75% of your maxhr.

But if your diet is rich in carbohydrates and your glycogen is full, or if you're eating carbs during the workout - you can go for as long as you want, and as high intensity as you want.