1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Lifting weights alone?

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by Lindset, Jan 27, 2004.

1. Lindset

Lindset Well-Known Member

Does that work well? How about if you want to train Max-OT? I'm a newbie to weightlifting, so bear with me and my ignorance to the subject :) Does it depend a lot on your equipment?

2. HobbesAB

HobbesAB Well-Known Member

If you workout alone, then you need to be careful and leave your ego at the door. Equipment is everything when working out by yourself. Get a Power Rack so you can lift heavy and you should be fine. If you're not using one, then go heavy with dumb bells and be careful with the barbell. You don't want to find yourself pinned under a bar with a heavy load of plates.

3. NME

NME Well-Known Member

I work out alone almost exclusively. I am also without a power rack (still), so to say that it is possible to work out alone and still be safe is an accurate statement as far as I'm concerned.

Just be smart. Don't let your ego get the best of you and try to lift too much (particularly when squatting or benching). There are also other ways to lift that can help prevent serious injury (using dumbbells whenever appropriate, squatting to a bench, etc.).

And Max-OT is not a problem for solo trainers, either. Again, you just have to be smart. You may not be able to go until the bar would lay on your chest (while benching, for example) but you'll certainly be able to work hard enough to know when you are at failure and when not to attempt another rep.