1. JSF is shutting down on February 12, 2020. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Lat problems, help please.

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by cymbals, Oct 24, 2011.

1. cymbals

cymbals Active Member

I've been working out steadily for the last 3 years making decent progress in terms of gaining strength. Over the last year however I've hit a wall with the lat portion of my workouts, especially on the pull downs. I've tried changing exes every 4-6 weeks, which hasn't helped. I cannot pull my body weight. Any suggestions? Thanks.

2. cymbals

cymbals Active Member

Any ideas?

3. stallion16

stallion16 Well-Known Member

Have you tried any of the following exercises:

Dumbbell rows
    Barbell rows
    cable rows
    Deadlifts

Two other things:
    1. Form: make sure you feel your back muscles working when you are performing the exercise. One way you can do this is to use a hook grip when doing exercises
    http://doubleyourgains.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/hookgrip.jpg

Try not to stimulate your arms, but really focus on getting your back to do the work. Picture your arms as just hooks that carry the weight

2. Eat enough calories: you have to support your training with the right amount of calories, so eat a few hundred calories over your maintanence level and watch yourself grow and your strength will increase.

4. cymbals

cymbals Active Member

Thanks stallion, I have noticed that my lats aren't even sore the day after which means to me that my form is wrong. I have been doing rows (cable and dumbbell). I have not been doing deadlifts. I guess maybe I should look at that. I've always been a little leary of deadlifts having some back issues in the past.

5. stallion16

A couple of more points:

1. Progressive overload- you must be lifting more weight or more reps at each session. Beating your previous session is imperative here. Make sure you're keeping a record of each training session.