1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Keeping my butt out of the ICU!

Discussion in 'Fitness Journals' started by nomadsails, Mar 14, 2010.

1. nomadsails

nomadsails Active Member

Hello everyone,

Forgive me JSF, for I have sinned. It has been more than two years since my last post (before this week).

Time to get back on the bandwagon.

I'm 23, married, coming back from a couple shoulder injuries with significant left-sided muscle loss in the upper back/arm, 5'8", 213lbs as of this morning, about 30% BF +/- 3%, and I'm tired as hell of being fat.

I'm a critical care nurse working in the Coronary Care Unit. I deal with other people's heart problems on a daily basis. I just saw a under-50 female die of a 100% occlusion (aka, no blood flow) of the abdominal aorta (supplies the lower body with blood) and a 95% occlusion of the left main cornary (supplies more than 50% of the heart). I'm intimately familiar with obesity, heart disease, and diabetes.

The bottom line is for me: HELL NO! I do not want to ever have diabetes or need insulin , nor do I want a quadruple bypass. Every single bad thing caused by poor diet and lack of exercise, every one of those avoidable problems, must be eliminated.

-----------

Goal weight: 180 lbs.
    Goal BF: 10%
    Goal time: 2 years, March 2012

Current Phase: 3/16 Cut

Workout plan
    Phase I - Rippetoe's Starting Strength
    Phase II- 5x5 plan from Rippetoe's
    *Estimated time to completion for Phase I&II is approx 6 to 8 months
    Phase III- Olympic lifting

-----------------

Here's the data:
    23 years old
    5 ft. 8 in. / 213.0 lbs / 31% bodyfat (by BF scale - more accurate measurement coming)

Workout - Rippetoe's Starting Strength