1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

I need some "cutting" help...

Discussion in 'Fat Loss/Cutting' started by SCHTEEVIE, Mar 25, 2004.

1. SCHTEEVIE

SCHTEEVIE Well-Known Member

Hey everyone!

I've done a fair bit of theoretical home work related to cutting, now I'd like to get opinions from those of you that are actually doing it... :bow:

My specs are:
    6 feet, 29 years, male, 165lbs, 16-17% BF

I'm not on this part of the forum much since I have been bulking for the past 6 months. (I did pretty well - managed to gain 12 lbs of lean mass, and had some pretty good strength and size gains.) :flex:

I am going to start my first real cutting phase in two weeks to show off all my hard bulking work and get some muscle definition and maybe even a “6 pack” for the summer!

I have the diet part figured out; I'll spend a week reducing calories from my bulk rate of 3000 per day to about 1800-2000, and go from there.
    I'll keep protein at ~200 grams per day. :eat:

As for lifting, I plan to squish my 4 day bulking routine into a 3 day split (still lifting heavy with relatively low reps) and I will do cardio on the other 3 days, and take one day a week off.

My main question is about HIIT cardio VS. Regular less intense cardio...

For those of you that do HIIT I understand it is mainly 1 minute intervals...?
    Do you go by "perceived effort" or actual heart rate?

If you go by heart rate, do you manually check the pulse, or do you use an electronic monitor?

if you go by heart rate, how long does it take for your heart rate to get down from 90% to 60% - for me, it takes a lot longer then 1 minute...