1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

How much bodyfat % can I lose in 1 month?

Discussion in 'Fat Loss/Cutting' started by JaxConrad, May 3, 2008.

1. JaxConrad

JaxConrad Well-Known Member

I have a specific event I want to get in shape thats just 1 month away. If I was working out really hard and eating right, whats the most % of body fat I could expect to lose in a month? At the moment I'm about 18%.

2. smuhhh

smuhhh Well-Known Member

I am not a pro here, so this is just my thoughts.

If you really kick your own ass hard for a month, you could probably get yourself down to ~15%

3. kevin_in_ga

kevin_in_ga Active Member

Look, this is easy to determine. You are currently at 152 and 18%. That means you have 125 lbs of lean muscle mass, and 27 lbs of fat.

Assuming you can lose 2 lbs of fat per week (an aggressive target, but do-able), and you lose 1 lb of water for every 7-8 lbs of fat, after one month you will be at 124 lbs LMM and 19 lbs fat, putting you at 143 lbs and 13.3 % BF.

HOWEVER - before you get too excited, this is a best case scenario for almost anyone. Diet, cardio, and solid lifting are a must, and dedication is critical.

Assuming you are human and slip up a bit, you might be at 145 and 21lbs fat (~14-15%).

Excellent guesstimate smuhhh!!

4. sodomojo

sodomojo Active Member

Most people are able to lose around .5% bf per week. Some can lose up to 1% bf per week.

5. kevin_in_ga

Again - it is not a percentage you lose, but an absolute amount. As I stated earlier, a 2 lb fat loss per week is an agressive but achievable goal. The percentage that translates into depends on your absolute weight and absolute amount of fat.

6. Gance

Gance Active Member