1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

help with calves

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by stillpics76, Mar 21, 2004.

1. stillpics76

stillpics76 Well-Known Member

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to the whole weightlifting arena. I've read several posts on it, but I want to pose a more specific question.

Here's some background info first:

I am 27 years old, rather petite at 5'1.5" and 102 lbs, but I fall into the pear-shape category (30.5" bust, 23.5" waist, 35" hips). I've been relatively thin my entire childhood, and it was around the 16 yr-old mark was when my weight seems to shift to my lower half. Getting more curvaceous hips wasn't a bad thing, but my calves seem to balloon to the point where I don't wear shorts or skirts anymore without being so painfully self-conscious. I can't even find boots I can wear since I can never close the zipper. As of yesterday, standing only on one leg, my calf measures 13.75" at the widest part. (I do this as part of calculating my body fat% on healthcentral.com). I have no definition on my calves, and they just look like two large tree trunks attached to my large 8” ankles.

So my issue is creating more definition in my calves, while hopefully decreasing their size. There seems to be quite a bit of fat hiding the muscles down there. I've read that you can't target fat loss, and you have to lose overall body fat to see some improvement. But someone with an already low bf% of 17.9%, how do I safely achieve my goal? Plus my upper body is pretty thin, I don’t want to get any thinner in that area.