1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

going to gym more than 6 months, progress stopped

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by janzy, Nov 19, 2014.

1. janzy

janzy Member

Hello everyone!

Just a quick introduction. I'm male, 27, 189 cm tall, weight of 102kg. A bit over normal weight, but I'm currently putting on muscle mass.

I've been visiting the gym for the past 6 months and my progress was steady. I added a bit of weight on top for every exercise every 2 weeks. I was doing full body workout for 4 months and after that I've switched to lower / upper split.
    Currently I do my trainings like this:
    Monday - chest and triceps
    Tuesday - back and biceps
    Wednesday - shoulder and triceps
    Thursday - legs, abs and biceps
    Friday - Sunday = rest.

I progress at most of my exercises, yet at bench press and squat my progress is completely stopped.
    Do you have any idea as to why? I realize that progress cannot be constant forever and that at some point progress will stop - but after only 6 months?? I don't believe that's my case....
    What am I doing wrong?
    I am eating a lot of calories - my BMR is 2225 calories (I used this handy BMR calculator http://healthiack.com/bmr-calculator) and I eat well above 3000 calories per day having 5 meals. Do you think I should be consuming even more calories? Chest and legs are pretty big muscles and I imagine they burn lots of calories? What calorie intake do you recommend?
    Maybe I am over-training? Should I reduce the amount of trainings per week or introduce a 1 day pause between workout days? But I am splitting my trainings to avoid muscle exausthion.