1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Gear for cold weather

Discussion in 'Road Cycling, Mountain Biking & Cyclocross' started by Derwinator, Oct 16, 2014.

1. Derwinator

Derwinator Well-Known Member

We are enjoying some beautiful fall weather now but winter is fast approaching and I am just now realizing I don't have much in the way of gear needed for riding in cold temps (I started riding again last spring). I don't plan to be out for rides in freezing weather but realize that it feels colder when it's cloudy and you're traveling at 15 - 35 MPH.

So, without going overboard (winters are short and fairly mild in central TX) what do you recommend as minimum gear I need to buy to get through the season? Please post away your favorites that have saved you from freezing your butt off :D

2. abuseguy

abuseguy Active Member

I don't know what your temps get down to in Central TX but here are some suggestions:

* I have a Louis Garneau Enerblock Jacket: Nylon in the front to block the wind, vented under the arms and in the back, sleeves zip off to create a vest. Lots of options for this jacket, including daily wear.

* Knee warmers / Leg warmers turn daily cycling shorts into tights. You can also carry them with you if you're riding later in the day when it will get cold, or take 'em off mid-ride if you're riding in the morning.

* I also have a ridiculously lightweight Pearl Izumi vest and a similar jacket that I can carry with me for the long descents. I carry stuff like this in a "stash bottle" in my second water bottle cage.

* Long-fingered riding gloves or short-fingered combined with glove liners. (I can get away with the latter until about freezing.)