1. JSF is shutting down on February 12, 2020. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Elbow joint problems, any ideas?

Discussion in 'General Health/Fitness & Injuries' started by darksleeper25, Dec 2, 2006.

1. darksleeper25

darksleeper25 Active Member

This is a problem that I've had ever since I started lifting. Whenever i try to do any overhead tricep exercises like: skull crushers, seated/standing overhead dumbell extension, or even bent over dumbell extension, (basically any exercise that requires the use of my elbows to hold the the weight) I get really sharp pains in my elbows. It only happens with weight that I can do 10-12 times. I can do light weight with lots of reps with no problems but for some reason it hurts when i do heavier weight.

I take Glucosamine 3 times a day and stretch for at least 15 minutes a day and neither of the two have helped. There's another guy in the gym that has that same problem. He's huge, cut, and knows what he's doing so I trust him. Anyways, he's never tried to figure out why. He just cable extensions and close grip benches.

Does anyone else on these forums have that problem? If so what, if anything have you done about it. i'd like to try and fix this so I can add some more variety to my tri exercises.

2. TylerGred

TylerGred Well-Known Member

First does the pain nag you at any time during the day? Also how many pushing exercises do you do? For the skull crushers what type of bar do you use?

When you stretch be sure to warm up first with a light jog or spend some time on the bike to get a little sweat going. Nothing that will fatigue you, just a little warm up. Also if you aren't doing it, grasp a towel in one hand and pull the other end of the towel behind your body. Kind of like the seated overhead ext., but with a towel. If you need a picture I'll look for one.

Only other things I can say is...

Use Voltaren cream on elbows.

Use Blue Heat to warm-up.

Use elbow sleeves.

Use ibuprofen.

Ice massage.