1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Egg Beaters: Inconsistent quality lately?

Discussion in 'Nutrition & Supplements' started by John Stone, Jun 29, 2005.

1. John Stone

John Stone Every day is Leg Day
    Staff Member Owner

Have any of you Egg Beater eaters noticed a problem with quality lately? I've been eating them pretty much every day for almost 3 years, and lately there have been a lot of problems with poor product.

The way I cook Egg Beaters is to lightly coat the pan with Pam, preheat the pan, pour half the carton into the pan and let it cook until the bottom is golden brown, then I flip the whole thing over and let the other side cook until it's golden brown. Lately the eggs have been bubbling up (they are not supposed to do this), have not been turning an even golden brown (more of a splotchy brown), and they fall apart when I try to flip them. They also have an off taste and "powdery" texture. I can't get them down without gagging. I've had the same problem with the both the Southwestern and the Garden Vegetable varieties, and I've purchased them from 2 different stores. I used to see this problem once in a blue moon, but lately (past month or two) the problem has been with 90% of the product I've purchased. I don't know if the eggs are not being properly handled (refrigerated) at some point along the line, or if there is a quality control problem at the plant.

I've contacted ConAgra Foods about the problem several times, but they don't seem to be able to figure it out (although they say they are still working on it). They say there's been no change in formulation. I've all but given up. I'm going to stop eating them if they can't make them good again.

2. Bluestreak