1. JSF is shutting down soon. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Dorm Food

Discussion in 'Nutrition & Supplements' started by Scott, Jan 23, 2004.

1. Scott

Scott Well-Known Member

I'm a college student and I know there are at least a couple more on this forum and being in college has its ups and downs. One, its really easy to get a great workout and I have access to an excellent gym. I've established for myself a really good cardio/muscular development routine. I'm 300 and would like to get around 220 so I'm mainly focusing on weight loss.

But the other aspect of weight loss, nutrition, is almost impossible for me to accurately measure. My options are pretty limited when it comes to high-protein/low-carb/low-fat things. If I want the meats that have the proteins, I often have to settle for a high fat meal. Additionally, its often difficult to measure and find out the nutrients of what I'm eating. Luckily, there is a grocery store near by where I can purchase carrots and other mid-meal snacks, but heavy cooking just isn't possible

Does anyone have suggestions as to options for ways to get the high-protein meal and also ways to accurately measure the nutrients of what I'm eating?

Thanks, this forum and john have been a great inspiration and motivator.

-Scott

2. NME

NME Well-Known Member

check out sites like http://www.calorieking.com and http://www.fitday.com (I recommend the former, myself) if you need to find the nutritional information for foods.

As for high-protein meals, I understand you're in college (I'm in the same boat) and that money is, in all liklihood, tight. However, I would suggest spending the $30 (give or take) and get yourself a tub of whey protein. This is a great source of protein at a relatively low cost. While it's not ideal to get the majority of your protein from a supplement, this is better than shortchanging your protein intake or consuming too much saturated fat as found in beef.

3. Super Fink