1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Deadlift Aesthetics

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by modmaven, Nov 24, 2008.

1. modmaven

modmaven Well-Known Member

So I've been doing coventional deadlifts for a few months now so that I might get to be half as strong as dejavued. (so far that's just where I am!) I understand that the DL works a vast amount of muscles and all that. And I love getting strong. But it just occured to me that I don't know exactly what, if anything in particular, the aesthetic pay off of deadlifts is. I can picture what every other ex should result in -- but I can't do the same for the DL. Is there some particular aesthetic benefit? In googling around, I noticed that some bodybuilders skip the DL altogether, perhaps for this reason. Any thoughts? Just curious.

2. artizzztik

artizzztik Active Member

I know what you're saying. Squats give you big quads, flys a big chest, benches big tri-s.

I think the most important aesthetic benefit is that the deadlift is pretty much bar-none the best overall mass builder around. It doesn't blow up a specific muscle so much as it bulks up EVERY muscle.

From what I can tell the deadlift does a lot of good for your core, and much of the core is pretty well buried. You never really see your psoas, but it's there. If you strengthen the core you can lift heavier stuff whatever the lift - and, if you're lifting heavier stuff, everything else is going to grow.

I always focus on the functional strength angle. I don't think of it as getting big, but as getting strong. There's just something really primal about it. "ARGH. ME PICK UP BIG WEIGHT."

Of course, I am a little weird. :)

3. MannishBoy

MannishBoy Senior Member