1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Cut the Gut, Build the Brawn

Discussion in 'Fitness Journals' started by Ecrivain, May 13, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Ecrivain

Ecrivain Well-Known Member

I've drifted through life. I've had nebulous goals, mostly based on the expectations of my family, my friends, and society in general. I got good grades. I graduated college with high honors. I got a good job. But I've never had a plan. I've never had big goals, something to strive for, something to pour my passion into. This has resulted in a comfortable but generally unsatisfying life.

About six months ago, something snapped. It started as a splinter in my mind, a simple thought that I may be able to improve myself. I toyed with the idea, taking it out of the box and playing with it a little bit. The concept yielded results: I lost a little weight and started feeling better. In January, I reached a very low point in my life. The emptiness, the drifting, was getting to me. It was time to get serious. I had to do something real with my life.

Now I have goals. Some are small, short-term goals. Others are much bigger and involve serious life changes. I'm taking steps towards realizing these goals. And in an effort to keep myself honest, I've decided to share some of them in this very public forum.

The Goal: Live in Japan, even if only for a year or two.