1. JSF is shutting down on February 12, 2020. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Creatine

Discussion in 'Nutrition & Supplements' started by joe84, Dec 11, 2006.

1. joe84

joe84 Active Member

I've been lifting now for a couple of months, getting great gains in size & power. My diet is in good order, macros 40:40:20. 8 weeks ago I started using a Protein/Carb/Fat/creatine blend product (Maximuscle Cyclone) for PWO shakes & i think this has added to my gains. So far I've been using a 3-day split body part lifting program.

In the new year I'm hoping to add a Creatine Monohydrate supplement to my diet as I've had benefits from this before. I just read a good article on BB.com:http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/likness2.htm
    My stats are 210lbs & 16% BF, so I'm thinking about a 12 week program like:

Week 1: 25g per day (Loading)
    Weeks 2-12: 5g per day (Maintenance)

At the same time I'm thinking about switching to a 3-day full body workout (just for a change!) but I've just read that this type of workout might be suitable with creatine. So my questions are:

1) Should I switch to just a simple whey protein supplement while taking creatine instead of a blend?
    2) What is the optimum workout to do while using creatine?
    3) When's the best time to take creatine for workouts: pre or post. Can it be taken at the same time as my protein (PWO)?
    4) Can anyone recommend some good products?

Thanks in advance for any comments or advice:tu:

2. M@

M@ Monster Maker 2017

Media:
    Albums:
    If there's a reason to do so, I don't know it. I'd stick with whatever you like.

Based on Jeremy's article I'd say a training program with moderate-high intensity and moderate-high volume. As long as you're feeling tired-exhausted at the end of your session, you should be fine.

I don't know that there's an optimum time to take it. I'd just stay consistent and keep taking the supplement at around the same time each day.