1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Combining Cycling with Weight Training?

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by GradualStudent, May 16, 2004.

1. GradualStudent

GradualStudent Well-Known Member

Hi All,

Kate the Newbie here ...

I would like to lose weight (20 lbs gained over a brutal winter/job change and another 30 more) and balance my cycling workouts with some weight training. I bike commute as much as 120 miles a week and it does affect my body after a while.

I sometimes have problems pulling my shoulder muscles if I bodyboard or haul my bike onto a train (a common commute method for me) or do anything arm intensive. I'd also like to shed the bouncing blobbing baby belly for good, deal with inner/outer thigh sloppyness, and counteract the tendancy of big boobs and bent-over cycling to make me hunchbacked.

I am a graduate student, so I have access to a great weight facility and a pool. Time is a problem when heaped on top of long bike rides to or from work (25 miles plus 5 back with the train to help). I also wonder if stacking the weights on top of 30 or even 50 mile days is a wise idea ...

Any ideas on how to put together a series of 3 weekly 30 minute weight workouts? Timewise, it works better if I do these on days I bike all the way in because I can just go to the athletic center, work out, then shower and get to work - is that a good idea?

Thanks in advance for any assistance anybody can give me - and super thanks to John for setting all this up!
    -kPa

2. GradualStudent

Okay. So I went to the Body For Life site and found a bunch of truly interesting stuff. Wow - no tricks or sales crap or teasers, just a beautiful, sensible, helpful site.