1. JSF is shutting down on February 12, 2020. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Carguy's Next Chapter

Discussion in 'Fitness Journals' started by carguy, Jun 28, 2008.

1. carguy

carguy Well-Known Member

I thought I'd start a new journal (even though I am not good at keeping them up) because I have come to a point in my life where a lot of things are about to change.

In less than four weeks, I will be turning 55. It seems old but I don't feel it or fear it. I'm in the best shape of my life and am continually told I don't look it.

And today I committed to becoming an instructor at my gym. I will be taking training and eventually teaching the group class I have been taking the last three years. It's called Group Power and uses barbells of differing weights in routines set to music which works all the major muscle groups. They were happy to get a male instructor since they would like for more men to participate in the group classes. A lot of the other classes are really geared toward women.

For teaching the class, I will get paid so much per class (and half of that if no one but me shows up), a free gym membership, free tanning (big deal) and a discount on gym stuff. I'm there almost every day anyway so I figured I might as well get paid for it. Who knows, this could blossom into a post-retirement profession for me.:confused:

I'll keep you posted on how the three day training and certification goes. It's coming up the last week-end in July.

It will also be interesting to see if I end up doing this more and my regular weights less, if I will get into better or worse shape. I've always thought of this as a form of cardio even though it isn't. But I have to say that I think Group Power has added size to my biceps and really toned up my abs. Those are two particularly intense sections of the hour.

So what do you guys think? Can I come across as a credible fitness instructor?

#1 carguy, Jun 28, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  2. Rise