1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Cardio Before or After?

Discussion in 'Female Health & Fitness' started by ginger86, Jan 26, 2004.

1. ginger86

ginger86 Well-Known Member

This may have already been asked and answered so I apologize in advance. I'm new to working out and I'm still trying to establish a routine that works for me. Is it better to do cardio before weight training or after? I am currently doing it before and it seems to be working but I've also heard you should do cardio after. What is everyone else doing? Does it really matter or does it come down to personal preference? Thanks.

2. Lisa Stone

Lisa Stone Senior Member
    Platinum Member

I always do cardio on a different day than weight training days, and I always do it in the morning before I eat, at least thats how I did it before, but now that I am starting over, I'll do the same routine :)

3. corbint

corbint Well-Known Member

hey lisa, do you and john workout together, or do you both do your routines separately? do your cardio days fall in line with his lifting days, so you are both working out together, just doing different things?

my wife is planning her cardio and lifting plan right now, and we figure this would be something great to do together, except we know that if we lift on the same days together, it will take longer because stripping the weights between sets will add time, etc.

tell us how your workout is structured with john... thanks!

4. map200uk

map200uk Well-Known Member

hey ginger86,

before or after, hmm id say before personally, but if possible try to do cv on a different day i.e. 3 day split with days off being used for cv (maybe HIIT) this would mean your in and out within 15mins on cv days.