1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Can someone help me with total calories?

Discussion in 'Introductions & Advice For Beginners' started by Jchem, Mar 25, 2013.

1. Jchem

Jchem Active Member

I'm 5'11, 220lbs, male, 33 years old and confused.

myfitnesspal tells me I need 1800 cals
    myplate tells me i need 2200 cals

Searching this site, people mention 9-13 x your body weight as a target.

I'm having a hard time coming up with a number.. I'm want to do this the right way, and am not necessarily in a hurry. I have been working out for a few years, and have a lot of muscle (and even more fat =P). But this is my first time taking nutrition seriously.

For the past week, I've been eating 1600 calories per day (based on bad info) and have lost 3 or 4 pounds. Been doing 45% carb, %35 protein, 20% fat. I'm now realizing that is not enough calories.

I'm training for a 10K so I run 3 or 4 times a week (2-5K per run), I also hit the gym 3x per week to lift (about 60 minutes each)

I've actually been pretty happy on 1600 calories per day, but based on what I've read here, I know I need more. but how much?

thanks!

2. digitalnebula

digitalnebula Plagiarist

I use this site:
    http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-calculator/

Your stats give me a BMR of 2114. (This is your maintenance number if you laid in bed all day and did *nothing*)

I use the Harris Benedict Equation, sounds like you do "hard exercise 6-7 times eper week....you have a multiplier of 1.725

You maintenance number is: ~3,650.

A 25% deficit is about 2,735 calories.

I am just giving you numbers....if your exercise isn't "intense" use a multiplier of 1.55 (which is what I use)

--

TL;DR