1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Breaking a bench plateau

Discussion in 'Weight Training/Bulking' started by petvan, Apr 23, 2013.

1. petvan

petvan Active Member

So I've been doing mostly crossfit style workouts for about 8 months - in other words, huge variety, 75% metabolic conditioning. We do strength work though but rarely do we bench press (bench isn't a CF WOD friendly workout, nor is it something you should really be doing for time ;-)

Anyway, my squat/pulls and other presses are progressing, but I've been benching exactly 205 for 4 months. For whatever reason, 210 won't go up. Maybe I should go for 207, but I'm thinking about taking a month or two and dedicating one day a week to some bench assistance work to try and get through this.

Assuming I did so, I wondered if anyone had any tips of what to work on other than just doing lots of 3RM/5RM type workouts and incrementally upping poundage. I'm thinking stuff like pendlay rows to keep the back rolling, and maybe some dips / tri work?

Might be a bad idea anyway, but thought I'd throw it out there in case anyone had tips.

Thanks,

P

2. HevyMetal

HevyMetal Well-Known Member

I'd go for some weighted Dips in the plan......elbows close in and go heavy. Go for a set of 2 reps by 4 sets.

When you bench try only lowering the bar so your upper arms are parallel to your body. Probably work out to something like 4 or 5 inch gap between bar and chest.

Every once in awhile set the bench safeties so if the bar falls it won't crush your chest....then.....load the bar up with as much weight as you can get off the rack when you initially pull it off with your arms extended and lower it about 2 or 3 inches and then try and put it back.