1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone here a statistician?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussions' started by Justitia, Jul 12, 2012.

1. Justitia

Justitia Elite Member
    Lifetime Platinum Member

It's been so long ago since I studied and used statistics, my mind is drawing a blank on some items.

When one runs a linear regression with multiple independent variables, the coefficient of the independent variable indicates its contribution to the variance of the dependent variable.

Obviously the coefficients can't add up to more than 100% of the explanation of the dependent variable's variance.

What I can't remember is are coefficients expressed in a manner that they sum up to less than or equal to 1? or something else?

The reason I ask is that I am in the midst of one of my articles and there is a criticism of an author's results who found an independent variable statistically significant. The size of the coefficient is 0.38

Obviously if all coefficients have to be less than or equal to 1 then 0.38 is a pretty substantial contribution to the variance of the dependent variable. But if there is no innate limit on the size of the coefficient, 0.38 might be considered trivially small (as one critic argues -- the only issue there is that it is the only independent variable which has a statistically significant coefficient. All the other explanatory variable considered relevant have coefficients that are far from being statistically significant.)

So anyone here who knows about linear regression -- can you enlighten me? :D

2. raptor

raptor Well-Known Member

I work with several statisticians, I'll ask them tomorrow at work.

3. Justitia

Justitia Elite Member
    Lifetime Platinum Member