1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

Advice for first 100 mile ride?

Discussion in 'Road Cycling, Mountain Biking & Cyclocross' started by Derwinator, Oct 10, 2014.

1. Derwinator

Derwinator Well-Known Member

I'm taking on my first 100 mile ride tomorrow and looking for any advice others can share. It's a supported event so there will be water stops every 12-14 miles plus SAG. I've been training for the past 7 months and confident I can handle 75 miles but not sure how those last 25 miles will go. The weather is forecasted to be cool and rainy so I don't expect to hydration along the route to be a problem.

Any tips on pre-ride and during ride nutrition? Frequency and type of carbs to consume? Water or sports drinks or ??? Gear to bring for wet weather? Mental exercises to keep me going?

2. John Stone

John Stone Every day is Leg Day
    Staff Member Owner

Sorry I missed this thread! I've been really busy the past few days with the Mount Dora Bike Festival, and barely on my computer.

How did you century go?!

3. Derwinator

Hey John,

I know that you were WAY busy getting everything ready for the Mount Dora so didn't expect to get a reply from you right away but was hoping a few folks on the forums would throw in their advice.