1. JSF is shutting down soon. Please see this page for details.
    Dismiss Notice

Achievable Goals?

Discussion in 'Fat Loss/Cutting' started by Scott, Sep 3, 2004.

1. Scott

Scott Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I would appreciate any advice on whether these goals are realistic or whether I can do more.

I'm currently at 302 after having lost 19 lbs. over 6 weeks trying to establish a comfortable diet and routine. I'm an active guy, I play rugby, jog, and now have a great workout routine that I enjoy, but I am overweight and would like to finally get rid of it.

mybodycomp.com said I had a Lean Mass of 234 lbs and a body fat percentage of 25 percent. I'm sure thats on the low side, as I'm not too good with the measuring tape yet.

As a goal, I would like to reach 200 lbs by May 29, my birthday. I would need to lose 13 lbs. a month and would obviously be just cutting.

Is this attainable? Could I get to a lower goal? Is it too much? any advice is always appreciated. Thanks for all the help and advice this community has been able to give me already. :claphigh:

2. _Christopher_

_Christopher_ Well-Known Member

13 lbs a month is a bit much. More along the lines of 8-10 would be better, or you might be losing more muscle than you want to lose, which will slow your metabolism down.

And if your LBM really is 234, there is no way you are getting to 200 lbs, cause 234 means 0% body fat.

3. RTE

RTE Well-Known Member

Congrads on your loss, you are on the way. Height and wrist size are better measures to estimate obtainable weights.

I have never seen a bodycomp estimate in the ball park. It sounds like yours is another example. 302 lbs and 25%, are you 6' 9" or more?

4. tashimarie

tashimarie Well-Known Member

i have to agree with this.

5. APrettyFace

APrettyFace Well-Known Member

I've never heard of this before. How do I use my wrist size and height to figure out my obtainable weight? I've always wondered what weight is realistic for my height and bone structure.