1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

A triumphant return

Discussion in 'Fat Loss/Cutting' started by sigeplaxer, Jul 1, 2014.

1. sigeplaxer

sigeplaxer Well-Known Member

Hey fellow fitness types!

It's been 3 months since I've started exercising again. And while I've not been completely successful in getting in the amount of time I prefer, I have gone every week at least twice. I've noticed some improvement and that's just from getting in and moving weight around and facing my old nemesis, the stair master.

Ok, try to be brief with the facts. Was pretty bad off in October. Had full blown type 2 diabetes and didn't realize it. I work in healthcare and was fortunate someone noticed the problem and get me help. My blood sugar was well past 600 when I got help. A1C was 11.7 then.

This past May, I had an appointment and my dietary changes and the start of strength training saw that number drop to 5.5 (needs to be under 7 to be healthy). I'm pretty excited about that turning around, but the healthcare provider told me the problem is now my weight.

I am currently weigh 304. I was surprised to find out I'm around 26% bf now. The fat I had in my limbs is nowhere near what it was. The major problem now is my midsection..namely the gut.

At this point, i think I need to get some actual advice and / or direction for my efforts. I'm told gaining muscle will help burn fat so I started strength training, but then read I should lose the weight first. I don't know if there's any hard direction, but this is where I turn to you guys for guidance. I'm working to commit 4 strength training days and hope to get up to cardio everyday.