1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

a question about using weights as part of a healthy lifestyle

Discussion in 'Introductions & Advice For Beginners' started by sudy, Aug 20, 2010.

1. sudy

sudy Active Member

hi :) I'm pretty new to eating clean and weight training, and the forum too, but I've been doing cardio on and off for a couple of years -- mainly off :/ I've been reading the forum and there's something I'm not clear about:

what will happen if I don't increase weights? I'd like to know the pros and cons of increasing or staying at a set weight when lifting. if I alter my workout routine every month or so, will this be enough? I mean as an alternative to lifting heavy. I realise it sounds like I don't like the idea of lifting heavy but that's not really the case, I just want to find out if it's necessary for somebody with my goals. I intend this to be a lifestyle change, something that I can keep up indefinitely.

my goal is to initially lose some fat and build some muscle, then maintain.. I'll be 40 in a few years and I'd like to stay healthy in old age... I don't mean 40 ;) I should probably add that I'm at a healthy weight already.

*hopes the question hasn't been asked a hundred times and it's been missed during the search :o

2. guava

guava Elite Member
    Lifetime Platinum Member

Basically, there are three main goals of weight training:
    muscular endurance
    muscular strength
    hypertrophy (muscular growth)