1. Have you installed the new JSF Mobile app? Check out all the details here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. One account & one avatar for all of JSF. Unified login and profile. Forum alerts on the main site, and more. Check out the details here: Forum & main site unified account feature is live!
    Dismiss Notice

A few newbie questions

Discussion in 'Introductions & Advice For Beginners' started by Prodigy, Nov 2, 2006.

1. Prodigy

Prodigy Active Member

Hi all,

I am just beginning my transformation and as you all know, it can be quite confusing at the start :) I am currently 5'10 & 190 lbs with 24% body fat. 3 months or so ago I was 210, but lost that weight by quitting drinking (beer) and eating better. I am now in the second stage; fitness.

I have a few questions that I'm hoping someone will take the time to answer:

1) My goal is 170 lbs with 15% body fat in 10 months. Is this realistic?

2) I am currently doing cardio three times a week (eek!, hate it) and weights (circuit) twice a week. Could I reverse that and do weights 3 times, cardio 2 times (ie weights Mon, Wed, Fri)?

3) I read that a good post-workout meal is a protein shake and a banana or 2 (for carbs & sugar). I just ran into a situation where I had no bananas, so I had a protein shake and a glass of orange juice afterwards. Was the glass of orange juice a good idea?

I have a million other questions, but I am doing alot of reading on this great site and hoping to find answers to all those questions.

Cheers,

Prodigy

2. SwoleCat

SwoleCat Well-Known Member

CAPS:

I'D CONTINUE TO READ/RESEARCH/READ THE STICKY POSTS, ETC., AND COME UP WITH A SOLIDIFIED/INTELLIGENT PLAN OF ATTACK THAT ADDRESSES CARDIO, AN IMPECCABLE DIETARY APPROACH, AND A WORKOUT/REST PROTOCOL TO COMPLETE THE TRIO.

~SC~

3. kismocles

kismocles Well-Known Member

Hi Prodigy

Congrats on your successes so far. You've done a lot of hard work to get where you are now.