Please Support Our Sponsors and Advertisers!
JSF Amazon Mall
AtLarge Nutrition Results
John Stone Fitness
JSF BodyShop™

  
Go Back   John Stone Fitness Forums > Other Forums > Off-Topic Discussions

Off-Topic Discussions Talk about almost anything you like here, just keep it clean. Flaming will not be tolerated. No religion or politics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Fit Together.net?
Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 03:57 AM   #1
andi
Senior Member
 
andi is offline
Join Date: Jan 21st, 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 962
Sex: Female
Default Fit Together.net?

I just received a spam email from fit together dot net, trying to get me to buy a membership to get in shape.



Is someone using JSF to mine email addresses?



QUIT IT!!
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 05:33 AM   #2
marcus
Senior Member
 
marcus's Avatar
 
marcus is offline
Join Date: Jan 31st, 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,414
Sex: Male
Default

I haven't recieved any fitness related spam
__________________
Watch your thoughts; they become words.
Watch your words; they become actions.
Watch your actions; they become habits.
Watch your habits; they become character.
Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.
--Frank Outlaw
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 06:04 AM   #3
reanimated838uk
Senior Member
 
reanimated838uk is offline
Join Date: Sep 10th, 2004
Location: UK
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Sex: Male
Default

Yep i got it a few minutes ago..
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 06:07 AM   #4
reanimated838uk
Senior Member
 
reanimated838uk is offline
Join Date: Sep 10th, 2004
Location: UK
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Sex: Male
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reanimated838uk
Yep i got it a few minutes ago..
Seems that site was mybodycomp.com

Last edited by reanimated838uk; Fri, January 6th, 2006 at 06:54 AM..
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 06:33 AM   #5
doordude42
Senior Member
 
doordude42's Avatar
 
doordude42 is offline
Join Date: Apr 28th, 2005
Location: The BIG APPLE
Posts: 10,318
Sex: Male
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reanimated838uk
Yep i got it a few minutes ago..

Me too!!!!!!!! STOP!!!
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 07:47 AM   #6
John Stone
Owner
 
John Stone's Avatar
 
John Stone is offline
Join Date: Jan 20th, 2004
Location: Central Florida
Age: 44
Posts: 20,584
Sex: Male
Stats: 6', 167 pounds, 5.0% body fat (maintaining)
Default

They didn't get the email addresses from me. I NEVER give out emails for ANY reason. If you supplied your email to mybodycomp.com, well, it seems the site you mentioned above owns that site now. They actually tried to spam this forum (and I removed it and banned the user.)

Always read privacy policies before supplying your email.

Also, if you choose to make your email publicly available here or anywhere else, of course the bad guys can get it just as easily as the good guys. The default setting on JSF when a new account is created is to NOT show the email addresses publicly, so if you choose to enable the option to show your email, then that's obviously out of my control.
__________________
Main Site | JSF BodyShop™| Photo Journal | Youtube | Facebook | Twitter | New Home Journal (VIP) | JSF Xbox 360 Club (VIP) | Upgrade Your Membership!



"not alot can do it u have 2 be so rich......thats where steroids come sweet"
~ Incoherent YouTube user commenting on my 2008 bulking video
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 08:18 AM   #7
aaaaaa1
Senior Member
 
aaaaaa1 is offline
Join Date: Oct 17th, 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 152
Sex: Male
Default

Just got it too.
Are you sure it is coming from mybodycomp.com? Can't remember subscribing to that site.
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 08:37 AM   #8
reanimated838uk
Senior Member
 
reanimated838uk is offline
Join Date: Sep 10th, 2004
Location: UK
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Sex: Male
Default

well the pages are exactly the same.
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 10:07 AM   #9
jeremya
Senior Member
 
jeremya's Avatar
 
jeremya is offline
Join Date: Mar 15th, 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 37
Posts: 602
Sex: Male
Default

Yeah I got the email too, but when I clicked the link to check out the site the site wasn't even working. Oh well if they keep spamming me I will add them to the spam filter.

-- Jeremy
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 11:04 AM   #10
lostmind
Senior Member
 
lostmind is offline
Join Date: Sep 9th, 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 35
Posts: 603
Sex: Male
Stats: 5'8", 185lbs, ~15% bf
Default

I got it too. Told thunderbird it was junk
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 11:57 AM   #11
HeavyGuy
Senior Member
 
HeavyGuy's Avatar
 
HeavyGuy is offline
Join Date: Oct 10th, 2005
Age: 43
Posts: 598
Sex: Male
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremya
Yeah I got the email too, but when I clicked the link to check out the site the site wasn't even working. Oh well if they keep spamming me I will add them to the spam filter.

-- Jeremy
You click, that confirms to them that their spam works, they send out another wave, the money they get for selling your email address to other spammer companies increases.

All in all, typically the only person that benefits from spam are the spammers. Don't encourage them

Heavy
__________________
Story of a HeavyGuy :: Current Progress Pics & Stats
"Failure is the path of least persistance."
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 12:18 PM   #12
jeremya
Senior Member
 
jeremya's Avatar
 
jeremya is offline
Join Date: Mar 15th, 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 37
Posts: 602
Sex: Male
Default

Yeah, but it looked interesting. lol.

We do opt-in mailings at my work so I know the game, but I must not of been the only one to click since their site was tanked when I tried to reach it.

I can't wait to launch my new website!

:: Rings Hands :: Huwaawaaawaaa!!!

-- Jeremy
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 12:40 PM   #13
vatechguy
 
vatechguy's Avatar
 
vatechguy is offline
Join Date: Jan 22nd, 2005
Location: Charlotte
Age: 38
Posts: 1,837
Sex: Male
Stats: Height - 6'2" Weight - 270 BF% - 30
Cool

This is the old mybodycomp.com

I didn't click on the link in the email (I got one too) - but I did log into the site - it would appear they have most of the old tools working again - they were not as of the last time I tried to use it in December.

Spam is bad - but since I do use their site - I expect the sales pitch.
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 01:26 PM   #14
Monkey0ne
Senior Member
 
Monkey0ne's Avatar
 
Monkey0ne is offline
Join Date: Aug 9th, 2005
Posts: 1,238
Sex: Male
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andi
I just received a spam email from fit together dot net, trying to get me to buy a membership to get in shape.



Is someone using JSF to mine email addresses?



QUIT IT!!

If they are, they're not doing a good job...
I got nadda. And no, I'm not curious enough to want it forwarded to me either.
So here's proof: They didn't get eMail addys from John.
__________________
"What's Valuable in Life is NOT what you get, what's Valuable in Life is what you BECOME." - Jim Rohn
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 01:28 PM   #15
1FastGTX
 
1FastGTX's Avatar
 
1FastGTX is offline
Join Date: May 17th, 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 34
Posts: 9,371
Sex: Male
Stats: 5'8|220lbs|95.2%bf
Default

Got it too!

Big deal? I doubt they got our addresses from here, but if we leave our profile wide open showing our email addresses, it is our own fault.

I'm sure it's just a coincidence.

I get about 7 or 8 diet/bodybuilding/medical/steroid emails a day. Most get blocked though.
__________________
Forget man's so-called logic and find your own metabolic needs.

-Vince Gironda
  Reply With Quote

Old Fri, January 6th, 2006, 04:48 PM   #16
andi
Senior Member
 
andi is offline
Join Date: Jan 21st, 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 962
Sex: Female
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Stone
They didn't get the email addresses from me. I NEVER give out emails for ANY reason.
Sorry John, I didn't mean to imply that I thought you personally had done something. I posted my email address (in text form only, not even a fuly formed address) to Carole's thread yesterday so she could send me her pics. Shortly thereafter I received the spam- I wasn't sure if someone had found my post and manually added my email address to their spam list.

If fit together dot net had said in their email that they used to be mybodycomp.com, then I wouldn't have even posted this thread and I would have considered the email annoying, but not spam. I was a member there (though I haven't visited the site in ages). Now it all makes perfect sense.

Sorry to worry anyone unduly.
  Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Facebook   Twitter   RSS

Copyright ©2004 - 2013, John Stone Fitness LLC