Sponsored Links

View Full Version : Flaxseed Oil

tkane
Wed, January 28th, 2004, 01:32 PM
I went to GNC last night to purchase my first jar of Whey Protein. I explained to the clerk how I was starting a workout and healthy eating program so he recommended I buy some Flaxseed Oil caplets. He said with the increase in Protein it would act as a fiber but was also loaded with Omega3 and Omega6.

I am very new to this I did purchase the flaxseed but wanted to make sure it was a smart choice.

I'm lifting 3 days a week and running on the treadmill 5 days a week. I have really changed my diet keeping away from Sat fats and carbs. (i'm a walking carb). I snake on the Zone Perfect bars so I thinking i'm getting enough carbs and proteins.. Another thing I guess I need to keep to around 2000 calories a day but it's hard. I eat Salad for lunch with a can of tuna and lowfat or fat free dressing. How do I know about how many calories that is. I don't want to under eat.. :eat:

CattleProd
Wed, January 28th, 2004, 01:40 PM
I picked up an oil supplement from Wal-Mart. It's actually a blend of Flaxseed, borage, fish, and it seems like one other kind of oil.

Supposed to be good for you!

-CP

PxT
Wed, January 28th, 2004, 01:40 PM
Flaxseed oil can be good if you don't eat a lot of seafood. If you eat fish at least once a week then you are probably getting enough omega's already. If you do decide to take it as a supplement I would recommend the oil form instead of the pills for a couple reasons: flaxseed will turn rancid relatively quickly, the caplets are usually not refrigerated when you buy them which will decrease their shelf life. It is also almost impossible to tell if they have already gone bad. Second you usually need to pop 8-10 pills a day just to get the same amount of omegas that you would in 1tbsp of the oil form. That can be quite a hassle -- the liquid form can go on salads, in shakes, taken straight, etc. Quick and easy.

daveo
Wed, January 28th, 2004, 01:41 PM